Connecticut law for first-time DUI offenders goes into effect

The punishment for first-time DUI offenders has become harsher after a state law went into effect this week.

Under the law first time offenders would be required to install an ignition interlock device in their car.

Under the law first time offenders would be required to install an ignition interlock device in their car. (7/3/15)

NORWALK - The punishment for first-time DUI offenders has become harsher after a state law went into effect this week.

Under the law, first-time offenders would be required to install an ignition interlock device in their car.

The device prevents drivers from starting their vehicles if they have alcohol in their system.

Supporters of the law say the ignition interlock device will make the roads safer.

Legal experts say it costs offenders $300 to start using the device. They would then be charged a monthly fee.

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Trending Video

Karen Ivers took part in her last graduation 1 Bridgeport nursing director retiring after 35 years
Thousands of people are rallying together in cities 2 Women march in solidarity in Stamford
Bridgeport police say a woman is in critical 3 Police: Woman shot in the head in Bridgeport
Soto's family describes the 31-year-old as funny, helpful, 4 Family mourns death of Stamford man killed in crash
Stamford police say one man is recovering after 5 Police: Man critical after Stamford store shooting

advertisement | advertise on News 12

More News

First-time DUI offenders will now be required to State troopers warn residents of drinking and driving

Connecticut State Police troopers are advising residents to be careful this coming Fourth of July

Sorry to interrupt...

Your first 5 are free

Access to News12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Time Warner® and Service Electric℠ video customers.

Please enjoy 5 complimentary views to articles, photos, and videos during the next 30 days.

LOGIN SUBSCRIBE