NEWTOWN - The six women who lost their lives trying to protect students at Sandy Hook Elementary are getting another honor.

The Congressional Medal of Honor society will honor them with the Citizen Service Before Self medal.

The society's president says Dawn Hochsprung, Mary Sherlach, Rachel D'Avino, Anne Marie Murphy, Lauren Rousseau and Victoria Soto went above and beyond to protect the lives of children.

The women are expected to be honored during a ceremony at Newtown High School on May 6.