CT cops issue costly tickets for talking and driving

? Over the past four months, Connecticut police have issued close to 2,500 tickets to drivers who talk on their cell phones without a hands-free device. Since a law was passed making the practice illegal,

News 12 Staff

Feb 6, 2006, 12:28 AM

Updated 6,676 days ago

Share:

CT cops issue costly tickets for talking and driving
? Over the past four months, Connecticut police have issued close to 2,500 tickets to drivers who talk on their cell phones without a hands-free device.
Since a law was passed making the practice illegal, Bridgeport police have issued the most tickets, with close to 300. Greenwich Officer Sean Hughes says talking and driving can be dangerous because people can easily be distracted from road conditions. Reaction from drivers is mixed. Some say they believe the average person can do both while others say it?s not safe.
The fine for talking and driving without a hands-free device is $100. Drivers who received a ticket can avoid the fee by showing the court proof of purchase for a hands-free headset within 30 days of the citation.


More from News 12