New seatbelt law goes into effect in Connecticut Friday

Connecticut drivers are being told to buckle up for a new seatbelt law that goes into effect Friday.
The new law requires that every passenger in the car, no matter where they're sitting or how old they are, must wear a seatbelt. The current law says the only people who need to buckle up in the back are people under the age of 16.
Officials say between 2017 and 2020, there were close to 13,000 injuries of people sitting in the back seat in Connecticut and 61 fatalities.
"Whether or not someone is wearing their seatbelt is a strong predictor as to whether or not they're going to survive that encounter," says state Sen. Will Haskell, the chairman of the Transportation Committee of the General Assembly.
If you're 18 years and older you will be charged a $50 fine and if you're under the age of 18, you'll have to pay a $75 fine.