Your area is approved for disaster assistance. What does that mean?

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) has announced the implementation of federal disaster assistance for areas in the states of New Jersey and New York affected by Hurricane Ida.
On Sept. 5, President Joe Biden issued major disaster declarations for the New Jersey counties of Bergen, Gloucester, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Passaic, and Somerset, and for the New York counties of Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond, and Westchester.
The president’s declaration allows HUD to offer assistance to impacted families living in these counties. Below is what it means for you:

1. Foreclosure relief

HUD's automatic 90-day moratorium on foreclosures of Federal Housing Administration (FHA)-insured home mortgages commenced on the date of the presidential major disaster declaration, and foreclosures of mortgages to Native American borrowers guaranteed under the Section 184 Indian Home Loan Guarantee program. For assistance, call your loan servicer or FHA's Resource Center at 1-800-304-9320.

2. Mortgage insurance available

HUD's Section 203(h) program provides FHA insurance to disaster survivors whose homes were destroyed or damaged to such an extent that reconstruction or replacement is necessary and are facing the daunting task of rebuilding or buying another home. Borrowers from participating FHA-approved lenders are eligible for 100% financing, including closing costs.

3. Insurance available for both mortgages and home rehabilitation

HUD's Section 203(k) loan program enables those who have lost their homes to finance the purchase or refinance of a house along with its repair through a single mortgage. It also allows homeowners who have damaged houses to finance the rehabilitation of their existing single-family home. 

4. Sharing information on housing providers and HUD programs

HUD will share information with FEMA and the states on housing providers that may have available units in the impacted counties.

5. Flexibility to states and local governments

HUD will issue regulatory waivers to allow communities more flexibility to use their existing Community Development Block Grant, Continuum of Care, HOME, Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS, and Emergency Solutions Grant funds. These waivers will make it easier for communities to respond quickly in the aftermath of Hurricane Ida.

6. Flexibility to Public Housing Authorities

Public housing authorities can apply for needed administrative flexibility through disaster waivers, in response to the devastating aftermath of Hurricane Ida. 

7. HUD-approved housing counseling agencies are ready to assist

HUD-approved housing counseling agencies have counselors available to assist those who are impacted by natural disasters to determine assistance needs and available resources. Click here to find a HUD-approved housing counseling agency.

8. Assistance with housing discrimination

Housing discrimination sometimes occurs when people are attempting to find housing following a disaster. HUD's Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity is available to assist people who believe they have experienced housing discrimination. If you think your rights have been violated, you should file a fair housing complaint with the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).  You can file a complaint by calling HUD at 1-800-669-977 or visiting How to File a Complaint on HUD’s website.